Contact us

Feel free to contact the following directly with questions and comments about Bluffton University.


You may phone the university's main switchboard at 419-358-3000 or 800-488-3257.

President's Cabinet

President James M. Harder
Interim vice president and dean of academic affairs Lamar Nisly
Vice president for student life, dean of students Julie DeGraw
Vice president for institutional advancement Hans Houshower
Vice president of fiscal affairs Kevin Nickel
Vice president for enrollment management TBD
Athletic director Phill Talavinia
Senior director of advancement operations and public relations Robin Bowlus

members of the Divisional Council

 Natural and applied sciences  Angie Montel
 Education  Gayle Trollinger
 Communication and fine arts  Marathana Prothro
 Social and behavioral sciences  Deanna Barthlow-Potkanowicz
 Business studies  Jonathan Andreas
 Humanities  Perry Bush
Health, fitness and sport science Steve Yarnell

Academic Department Chairs

 Allied health sciences  Deb Myers
 Art, communication and theatre  Melissa Friesen
 Business  George Lehman
 Education  Gayle Trollinger
 English and language  Cindy Bandish
 Health, fitness and sports science  Tami Forbes
 History and religion  Alex Sider
 Library  Mary Jean Johnson
 Mathematical and natural sciences  Steve Harnish
 Music  Crystal Sellers Battle
 Social sciences and social work  Matt Friesen

Academic Program Directors

 Graduate programs in education  Amy Mullins
 Graduate programs in business  Melissa Green
 Organizational management program  Randy Keeler
 Assessment  Alex Sider
 Bluffton University Research Center (BURC)  Jeff Gundy
 Global education  Paul Neufeld Weaver
 Honors program  Martina Cucchiara
 Institutional research  Darryl Nester
 Nursing  Sherri Winegardner
 Social work  Walt Paquin
 Speech, language pathology and audiology  Christina Bender
 The Writing Center  Cindy Bandish

Academic coordinators

 Art Phil Sugden
Biology  Angie Montel
Business  Gary Schiefer
Chemistry  Charles Daws
Forum  Gerald Mast
Online learning  Sara Cecire

Staff Directors

Director of academic development services Jacqui Slinger
Director of admissions Erin Burkholder
Director of alumni relations and annual giving Julia Szabo
Director of assessment Alex Sider
Athletic director Phill Talavinia
Bookstore manager Janine Paul
Director of buildings and grounds Mustaq Ahmed
Business office manager Rick Lichtle
Director of career and vocation Shari Ayers
Director of development/planned giving TBD
Director of financial aid Chris Fowler
Institutional research assistant Karen Bontrager
Director of institutional research Darryl Nester
Director of information technology Deb Turner
Director of human resources Scott Sharik
Director of libraries Mary Jean Johnson
Director of The Lion and Lamb Peace Arts Center Louise Matthews
Director of multicultural affairs Tyson Goings
Senior director of advancement operations and public relations Robin Bowlus
Director of residence life Kevin Williams
Director of University Events Complex; Conferences Mark Bourassa


Academic affairs Nancy Neff
Adult and graduate studies admissions
Alumni relations
Business office
Campus ministries Tig Intagliata
Center for Career and Vocation
Counseling services Rae Staton
Cross-cultural program Elaine Suderman
Development TBD
Health Center Cyndi Ulrich
Honors program TBD
International student admissions
Financial aid Chris Fowler
The Lion and Lamb Peace Arts Center Louise Matthews
Registrar (for grade transcripts)
Residence life

Kevin Williams

Sports information Bill Hanefeld Jr.
Student life
Student technology Ray Karcher

You may also visit our student and faculty/staff directories to search for persons on campus by name.